Books Of India Blog

The Book Of Dog

front cover of the book of dog

TITLE: The Book Of Dog

AUTHOR: Hemali Sodhi

PRICE: £5.86 (UK); $7.29 (US)

PUBLISHER: Harper Collins

ISBN-13: 9789354894626

EDITION: Paperback

GENRE: Non-fiction





There’s nothing quite like the incredible relationship between a human and a dog. From the moment we lay eyes on an adorable puppy or a wonderful adult dog who becomes part of our life journey, we share innumerable moments of pure joy with our furry best friends.

With forty-five original pieces by some of India’s leading writers, outstanding new voices and individuals who have dedicated their lives to animal welfare, The Book of Dog is a testament to how deeply dogs touch us, to the special bond we have with them and the unique place they hold in our hearts and our lives. Through a series of unforgettable real-life stories-funny, poignant, warm and joyous — the authors celebrate the remarkable dogs they have known and loved.

This book is a must-read for everyone who cherishes dogs and the perfect gift for a dog-lover friend. It will engross and delight readers of all ages as they go through one memorable story after another.

The Book of Dog is a project to which the editor and all the authors have contributed for free. All royalties will go to registered animal welfare charities.


Hemali Sodhi is the founder of A Suitable Agency, which represents writers, and advises on communications and brand strategy. A dog person and a pet parent, Hemali describes her best days as those spent in the company of dogs. She is passionate about books and travel, and lives in Gurgaon with her husband – and three of the most wonderful dogs on the planet.


Aanchal Malhotra, Abhishek Joshi, Amitava Kumar, Ananya Vajpeyi, Anindita Ghose, Anita Nair, Anuja Chauhan, Arunava Sinha, Ashok Ferrey, Ashwin Sanghi, Atul Sarin, Bulbul Sharma, Cyrus Broacha, Devdutt Pattanaik, Divya Dugar, Fiona Fernandez, Geetan Batra, Gillian Wright, Gulzar, Jai Arjun Singh, Jerry Pinto, Keshava Guha, Mahesh Rao, Maneka Gandhi, Manjula Narayan, Manu Bhattathiri, Mark Tully, Meenakshi Alimchandani, Naomi Barton, Nilanjana S. Roy, Orijit Sen, Paro Anand, Prerna Singh Bindra, Rajdeep Sardesai, Ruskin Bond, Sarnath Banerjee, Shobhaa De, Shrutkeerti Khurana, Sian Morton, Siddharth Dhanvant Shanghvi, Sooni Taraporevala, Sumita Mehta, Tandrali Kuli, Tishani Doshi, Vikas Khanna.independent book seller